Soup is a favorite part of my meal. I love, love, love having soup. As I take Chinese supplements, my mum told me that lotus root soup will not affect Chinese supplements/medicine. But, please check with your physician if you are taking Chinese medicine.

Ingredients:
1 stem of lotus root chopped into slices
10 pieces of red dates
A handful of wolf-berries, you can put more or less depending on your preference
A handful of walnuts (optional)
3 to 4 pieces of fried bean curd skin (for vegetarians) or 1 piece of pork bone (for meat lovers)
2 teaspoons of seasonings or salt
3-4 slices of ginger
3-4 bowls of water

Preparation:
1. Put all ingredients in a pot and bowl for an hour
Note: If you are using pork bone, please parboil before adding with the other soup ingredients

20121216-201837.jpg

